Wednesday, February 3, 2010

V.K. Prakash bags International award

V.K. Prakash, who made Mullavalliyum Thenmavum (2003), Freaky Chakra (2003), Police (2005), Moonnamathoral (2006) and Positive (2008), won six awards including the best director in the `Narrative Feature� section of the Los Angeles Reel Film Festival (LARFF) 2009 for his Hindi film Phir Kabhie. The film, which virtually swept the awards in the Narrative Feature section, won awards for the best narrative feature film, best narrative feature film director, best narrative screenplay (by Sindhuraj), best original score (Rajat Dholakia and Shantanu Moitra), best production design (Nitin Desai) and the best costume design (Bhanu Athaiyah and Simple Kapadia). Founded by a group of industry professionals, the Los Angeles Reel Film Festival is an Indie festival second in popularity only to the Sundance Festival. A sensitive tale of two childhood sweethearts who rediscover each other during the twilight of their lives, Phir Kabhi, produced by UTV, had a limited release last year through the UTV Channel. Mithun Chakraborty and Dimple Kapadia play the lead roles.

No comments: